Categories
Actually happens

What Actually Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Photo: Shutterstock (Shutterstock)Have you ever wondered what happens when you block someone on your iPhone? What really happens?You can block contacts through your Messages, FaceTime, and Phone apps. Blocking a contact in one app will block them across the board. However, blocking doesn’t prevent someone from trying to reach you. They won’t get a pleasant…

Illustration for article titled What Actually Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Photo: Shutterstock (Shutterstock)

Have you ever wondered what happens after you block someone in your iPhone? What actually occurs?

You can block contacts through your Messages, FaceTime, and Phone apps. Blocking a contact in one app will block them round the board. However, blocking does not prevent someone from trying to reach you. They won’t have a nice”your number has been blocked” notification from Siri, but they may begin to wonder why you aren’t answering their messages.

How to block contacts via Messages on iPhone

To block a number in Messages, open the conversation, tap the contact’s name, amount or image near the peak of the display, and then hit the”I” information icon. Harness the name or amount scroll down to the bottom of the touch display to”Block this Caller.”

When a blocked number tries to send you a text message, then it will not go through. If they’re on iOS, they might not even find the”delivered” notice in their Messages app–although it’s possible they’ll realize your chat bubble switch from blue (iMessage) to green (SMS). You will notice nothing on your end.

Illustration for article titled What Actually Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Screenshot: Emily Long

G/O Media can get a commission

Messages additionally has an option to filter texts from senders that aren’t on your Contacts list. You will still get the messages, but they’ll be sent to a separate”Unknown Senders” inbox. You also won’t see notifications for all these texts.

Illustration for article titled What Actually Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Screenshot: Emily Long

The Unknown Senders tab will appear alongside a”Contacts & SMS” tab at Messages if you allow this attribute (Settings > Messages > Filter Unknown Senders).

Illustration for article titled What Actually Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Screenshot: Emily Long

How to block contacts out of calls and FaceTime

To block a number in the Phone or FaceTime, tap on the”I” data icon next to the contact or number and hit”Block this Caller” on the touch screen.

You may handle your blocked contacts in Settings > Phone (or Messages or FaceTime) on your iPhone. Unblock numbers at any time to restart receiving messages, calls and notifications.

Illustration for article titled What Actually Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Screenshot: David Murphy

Calls from obstructed contacts move directly to voicemail. On your end, you are going to see a particular”Blocked Messages” folder in your voicemail inbox if they leave a message (found at the bottom of your voicemail message list). You won’t receive any notification they called, however.

This story was originally published in 2016 by Thorin Klosowski and has been upgraded in September 2019 and again on May 3, 2020 and June 11, 2021 by Emily Long. We added screenshots and slightly clarified language in the first piece, and updated it to meet current Lifehacker design guidelines.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *